05
Jun
16

Ideas on writing a book from Frank Hopkins

Eastern Shore Writers Book Blog

Thoughts on Writing

After several years of writing I have worked out a routine that maximizes the quantity and quality of my work. I always wake up early and begin writing first drafts early in the morning, before the demands of the day interrupt my thought process. The late afternoon and evening are reserved for editing my early morning drafts.

To ensure consistency between chapters in my novels, I start with an outline and develop an annotated outline identifying scenes in each chapter or short story. I then develop a spreadsheet with the columns identifying the chapters and scenes in the chapters and the rows specifying the Setting, Location, Date/Time Period, Status, Page Length, Characters, Point of View, Scene Summary, First Sentence and Transition Phase. The spreadsheet provides an easy and consistent technique to develop a first draft and reduces writers’ block. I learned a preliminary version of this approach…

View original post 294 more words

0 Responses to “Ideas on writing a book from Frank Hopkins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow theresamoretimer on WordPress.com

Goodreads


